Q: Do travelers get sick days when they take travel assignments?
A: Every company has their own procedure regarding sick days and paid time off.
Certain states (listed below) now require companies to allow employees to accrue sick pay hours upon starting employment. Currently, each state with this law has a specific rate in which sick pay is accrued.
The hours accrued during the assignment can either be paid out while on assignment or upon completion of the assignment. However, the hours are not “bankable” and cannot be “rolled over” beyond the end of each assignment. For example, if you accrued 4 hours of sick pay and don’t use them, you cannot roll it over to the next assignment. You may cash them out.
Paid Time Off works differently. Triage Staffing currently provides 40 hours of PTO once you complete a total of 2,080 hours (1 year) of working for us. Once used, you can continue to accrue 40 hours for every 2,080 hours worked.
*Denotes the fact that SPECIFIC municipalities require sick pay, not necessarily the entire state
Arizona – 1 hour for every 30 hours worked.
*California – 1 hour for every 30 hours worked.
DC – 1 hour for every 37 worked.
Maryland – 1 hour for every 30 hours worked.
Massachusetts – 1 hour for every 30 hours worked.
*New Jersey – 1 hour for every 30 hours worked.
Oregon – 1 hour for every 30 worked.
*Pennsylvania – 1 hour for every 40 worked.
Rhode Island – 1 hour for every 35 worked.
Vermont – One hour for every 52 hours worked.
*Washington – One hour for every 40 hours worked; Seattle is 1 for every 30 hours worked.